Why is neapolitan ice cream called neapolitan?

Neapolitan ice cream took its name for its presumed origin in the cuisine of the Italian city of Naples because of the many Neapolitan immigrants to the US who brought their expertise in frozen desserts with them. It is actually a 1839 German invention from a recipe called Fürst-Pückler-Eis.