Why was designated survivor canceled?

According to Variety, there are several reasons why ABC decided to cancel Designated Survivor. 1st, the drama was sinking in the ratings. 2nd, the show had gone through four show runners in only two seasons. And third, season 3 would have required a costly move of production from Toronto to LA.