Why do they call it a cobweb?

General Custer had problems listening because of webs of deceit in his ears. So when he died, the Native Women cleaned his ears with corn cobs. So he could hear the truth. Thereby creating 'Cobwebs"

---

The word “cob” is derived from the Middle English word for spider, coppe.