What was the first tournament?

The tournament in its earliest form originated in France about the middle of the 11th century. Several chroniclers credit a French baron, Geoffroi de Preully, with having invented tournaments. The early tournament was a mock battle between two bodies of armed horsemen and was called the mêlée.