How much obsidian do you need to make a portal in minecraft?

To create a nether portal in Minecraft you need a minimum of 10 obsidian blocks. 14 if you want to fill the exterior corners with Obsidian as well, resulting in a 4 block long by 5 block tall 'O' shape.