How do you know if garlic is bad?

Spoiled garlic forms brown spots on the cloves and turns from the usual white to a more yellow or brown color. Another thing, the green roots forming in the center of the clove are new sprouts forming. Though not harmful, these roots taste extremely bitter and should be removed before cooking.