How do you test if yeast is good?

To see if your yeast is still good, add 1 teaspoon of sugar and 2 1/4 teaspoons of yeast to 1/4 cup of warm water. Then, wait 10 minutes. If the mixture bubbles and develops a yeasty aroma, the yeast is still good