How do you tell when a watermelon is right?

Two ways to tell if a watermelon is ripe. First, look for a big yellow spot on the bottom. Two, knock on it and if the weight almost reverberates it's filled with juices.

---

There is the only way to tell if a watermelon is ripe, the only way is to check the area of the watermelon that had laid on the ground. It should be white and not yellow, yellow means it is not yet ripe. Currently, most stores do not carry ripe watermelons. The best time is from July to September.