How are peanuts made?

Peanut seeds (kernels) grow into green oval-leafed plants about 18 inches tall, which develop delicate yellow flowers around the lower portion of the plants. ... The peanut embryo turns horizontal to the soil surface and begins to mature, taking the form of the peanut.