How many calories are in a gram?

There are 4 calories in a gram of sugar and 4 calories per gram of protein. A gram of fat has 9 calories and a gram of alcohol has 7 calories. The speed that your body breaks down food is important. Candy will give you quick sugar energy but oatmeal takes longer to break down so the energy lasts.