How does something become kosher?

To qualify as kosher, mammals must have split hooves, and chew their cud. Fish must have fins and removable scales to be considered kosher. ... A kosher food that is processed or cooked together with a non-kosher food, or any derivative of non-kosher food, becomes non-kosher