When did italy join world war two?

On September 27th 1940, Germany, Italy, and Japan signed the Tripartite Pact. This pact formalized the alliance between the three countries, which subsequently were referred to as the Axis powers. At that point, the three countries agreed to join World War 2 in support of each other.