How much does a train weigh?

Depending on the number of cars in the train and the load, you can expect a normal train weight of between 3,000 and 18,000 tons. Typically, locally made trains can weigh anywhere between 1,500 and 6,000 tons or less, depending on whether they're used to transport people or to carry just a few tons.