Are fireflies and lightning bugs the same thing?

According to business insider.com, in the United States, glowing insects are known as "fireflies" or "lightning bugs" depending on where you live. "Firefly" is the more common term in the West and New England, while people in the South and most of the Midwest tend to say “Lightning Bug”.