When do caterpillars sleep?

A caterpillars rest period generally lasts from about 10 minutes, to a just a few hours. It doesn't matter if it's day or night. Each time they prepare to molt, they can remain inactive for a day or two until they crawl out of their skin, and then they turn around and eat it