What is the smallest thing known to mankind?

Protons and neutrons make up the core, or nucleus, while teeny electrons cloud about the nucleus. Protons and neutrons can be further broken down: they're both made up of things called “quarks.” Quarks can't be broken down into smaller components, making them the smallest things we know of.