How do you take the skin off of a tomato?

Carve an X on the bottom of each tomato. Dip into a pot of boiling water for one minute. Remove with a slotted spoon, plunge into a bowl of cold water (or an ice bath), lift them directly back out, and peel back the skin with a knife or your fingers. It will slip off like a charm.