What is an auto cannon?

Typically auto-cannons are too large and heavy to be used by dismounted infantry, at very least requiring a wheeled mounting. They are commonly used to provide rapid-fire armament for vehicles, ships and aircraft, serving as either anti-aircraft guns or being used to engage light armored vehicles.