Was there a tsunami in two thousand eleven?

On March 11, 2011, a 9.0 earthquake occurred, near the east coast of Honshu, Japan. Like the 2004 underwater earthquake, this too unleashed a massive tsunami. The waves completely obliterated such coastal towns as Kuji and Ōfunato and severely damaged much of the infrastructure in eastern Sendai.