Why is lisa montgomery on death row?

Lisa Montgomery the only female inmate on federal death row in the US has been executed for murder. The 52 yr old strangled a pregnant woman before cutting out and kidnapping her baby in 2004. Her 23 yr old victim bled to death but her baby was safely recovered and returned to her family.