Why do cats urinate on the floor?

Usually this behavior is for marking their territory to establish ownership. Occasionally if a cat persistently urinates near, but outside of the litter box, it may be a sign of illness and a visit to your veterinarian is suggested.

---

There are many reasons cats urinate outside of the litter box. It could be due to health reasons, the cat could be stressed in the home, or you may need to provide more than one litter box. The best idea would be to see a vet.