Why is venom black?

The suit is black. Comic guides and CGC list it as "black costume". There is also the storyline "Back in Black". Any coloration is probably intended as light reflecting off the symbiote. That and from an artistic standpoint it's easier to show depth and shadows when your character isn't pitch black.