Why are canines called canines?

They are called canines due to their resemblance to a dog's fangs. While our canine teeth aren't as long, pronounced or sharp as a dog's, they are usually longer and more pointed than our other human teeth. Canines are sometimes referred to as eye teeth because of their alignment under the eyes.