What was the first dollar bill ever made?

The 16th US President, Abraham Lincoln issued the first $1 bill in 1862 as a legal tender note, featuring a portrait of Salmon P. Chase, who served as US Secretary of the Treasury during the Civil War.

---

1862: The first one-dollar bill was issued as a Legal Tender Note (United States Note) with a portrait of Salmon P. Chase, the Secretary of the Treasury under President Abraham Lincoln.