How do you get rid of fruit flies with vinegar?

Set out a jar or bowl with one half to 1 cup of vinegar, add a few drops of dish soap, do not mix. The flies will be attracted by the scent of the vinegar and will attempt to land on the surface. Because of the soap, the surface tension is broken and the flies will become trapped and will drown.