Why is catnip?

catnip is a dried herb that stimulates a cat.

---

Its an herb in the mint family that cat can smell through a special gland in their mouth. It will can affect the behaviour of cats, these behaviors can include overt signs of affection, relaxation, and happiness. Other cats will display active behaviors, like playfulness or sometimes even aggression