What is d. a. t. e. m.?

DATEM is an acronym that stands for Diacetyl Tartaric Acid Esters of Monoglycerides. It is an emulsifier primarily used in baking to strengthen the gluten network in dough. It is added to crusty breads, such as rye, to impart a springy, chewy texture.