What is lion's mane?

Lion's mane, Hericium erinaceus is an edible mushroom belonging to the tooth fungus group. Native to North America, Europe and Asia, it is identified by its long spines, occurrence on hardwoods and tendency to grow a single clump of dangling spines. The fruit bodies can be harvested for culinary use