Does peeing on a jellyfish sting actually work?

Unfortunately, in the real world treating a jellyfish sting by urinating on it may actually cause someone situation even more pain, rather than relief. Urine can actually aggravate the jellyfish's stingers into releasing more venom. This cure is, indeed, fiction.