How do you catch a ditto in pokemon go?

Trainers won’t actually know if they’ve caught a Ditto until they’ve already done it. Trainers will need to successfully catch a Pokemon that Ditto can transform into (including Hoothoot, Gulpin, Bidoof, Foongus, Whismur and Paras)