How many bones does an otter have?

They have 7 cervical, 14 thoracic, 6 lumbar, 3 sacral and 20-21 caudal vertebrae. Absence of a clavicle may allow for greater flexibility of the pectoral girdle. Instead of a blubber layer, sea otters depend on their dense fur for warmth, and a very active metabolism.