What is a night fury dragon?

A night fury is a black dragon in the "How to Train Your Dragon Series" that is the most feared by the Vikings. Up until the first movie, no one knew any details. Hiccup learned that these are highly intelligent and social animals that discharge plasma, rather than fire as their primary weapon.