How much does it cost to own a horse?

There are a variety of costs associated with owning a horse including the original purchase of the horse, boarding, bedding, feed, supplements, water, vaccines, farrier, dental, deworming, insurance, tack and equipment, transportation and emergency medical expenses. Costs can be over $10000 a year.