Can you breathe air on mars?

Mars does have an atmosphere, but it is about 100 times thinner than Earth's atmosphere and has very little oxygen. The atmosphere on Mars is made up of mainly carbon dioxide. An astronaut on Mars would not be able to breathe the Martian air and would need a spacesuit with oxygen to work outdoors.