Why do some people call soccer football?

Football originated in Europe but became recognized as a team sport in the 19th century. Still called such today in Europe it became known as soccer in Oceania and North America. CFL/AFL use gridiron fields unlike football fields; however, these leagues use similar forms to rugby.