Who was the first president to appear on television?

The first United States President to appear on television was none other than the 32nd president of the US, Franklin Delano Roosevelt (commonly known as FDR.) FDR first appeared on black and white TV on April 30, 1939 during the opening ceremony for the World's Fair.