Who is jim key?

Beautiful Jim Key was a famous performing horse around the turn of the twentieth century. Promoters claimed the horse could read & write, make change with money, do arithmetic for "numbers below thirty," and cite Bible passages. His trainer, "Dr." William Key, was a former slave.