What are signs that a cat is in heat?

Some indications that your cat may be in heat, include: excessive vocalizations and a persistent obsession to get outside. A female may get excited if her back is stroked, and elevate and present her hindquarters, with the tail raised high. Both sexes will spray to mark territory more than usual.