Tell me about pride?

Gay Pride commemorates the Stonewall riots, caused by a 1969 police raid of the Stonewell bar in New York. LGBTQ people tended to keep their sexuality private but the raid changed this and started a gay political movement. Modern celebrations typically involve street fairs, events and a parade.