Why do horseflies bite?

The female horsefly bites to draw blood because they need protein for their eggs to grow after fertilization.

---

Horseflies must bite large animals, including horses, cattle, dogs, and humans, as part of their life cycle. Only female horseflies bite, as males do not have the appropriate mouthparts. Females need to drink blood to support egg production.