What temperature should a fish tank be?

Most tank fish do well at temperatures from 75-80 degrees Fahrenheit , but the needs of specific fish can vary. If your tank is home to just one or two types of fish, it is best to investigate their preferred temperature range and take steps to keep your tank in the middle of that range.