What is poly carbonate?

What exactly is polycarbonate? Polycarbonate is a type of thermoplastic polymer that contains carbonate groups within its chemical makeup. This makes the material incredibly versatile. Though it comes in many forms, it is often used to create clear sheets of strong, tough plastic.