What's the longest book ever made?

The Guinness Book of World Records gives the honor to Marcel Proust's elephantine Remembrance of Things Past, weighing in at 9,609,000 characters (including spaces). Other commentators cite Henry Darger's In the Realms of the Unreal, a 15,000 page novel.