What is two spirited?

Two-Spirit is a modern, pan-Indian, umbrella term used by some Indigenous North Americans to describe Native people in their communities who fulfill a traditional third-gender ceremonial role in their cultures. A member of a North American Indian people who is gay, lesbian, or transgender.