What happened on white island?

The most recent eruption of the New Zealand volcano was caused by rising magma coming into contact with ground water resulting in a violent but short-lived (just 12 minutes) hydromagmatic blast [a violent combination of water and magma] that sent a cloud of ash up to 4km into the atmosphere