What is the difference between an ocean and the sea?

An ocean represents a far larger body of open water than a sea. By definition, a sea is a smaller part of an ocean and is typically partially contained by an area of land. Therefore, all seas are found in areas where the ocean and land meet. Seas are typically partially enclosed by land.