Do raw eggs float?

The float test is a quick way to check the age or freshness of an egg. When placed in a bowl of water, a fresh egg will stay flat on the bottom, while an older egg will stand on its end or float because air builds up inside over time. This does not indicate spoilage or whether it's safe to eat.