What is a horse?

The horse is a domesticated, odd-toed, hoofed mammal. It belongs to the taxonomic family Equidae and is one of two extant subspecies of Equus ferus. The horse has evolved over the past 45 to 55 million years from a small multi-toed creature, Eohippus, into the large, single-toed animal of today.

---

The horse is a domesticated odd-toed ungulate mammal. It belongs to the family Equidae and is one of two subspecies of Equus ferus