Where did chili come from?

The dish we know as chili, also known as chili con carne (chili with meat), appears to have roots in the American West, particularly the State of Texas. An old legend holds that immigrants from the Canary Islands brought a recipe for chili with them when they settled San Antonio in the early 1700s.