What happened to windows nine?

Microsoft upgraded Windows 8 to Windows 10, skipping 9 altogether. Windows 8 was considered a failure and Microsoft indicated it wanted to put some distance between it and its successor. It's all psychological and indicates that Windows 10 was a huge step forward.